Dr. Vinayak Deshpande received the 2014 Core Faculty Champion in Sustainability Award.

Dr. Adam Mersereau received the Teaching Excellence Award from the Weekend Executive MBA Class of 2014



Dr. Ann Marucheck received the Outstanding Mentoring in Teaching Award.



Dr. Wendell Gilland and Brian Tomlin received The Skinner Best Paper Award in POM 2012 for their paper titled Regulatory Trade Risk and Supply Chain Strategy, POM, 20,4, July-August 2011, 522-540.

Dr. Vinayak Deshpande's co-authored paper with Milind Sohoni and Mazhar Arikan, “Building reliable air-travel infrastructure using empirical data and stochastic models of airline networks” has been selected as one of the two finalists for the Anna Valicek Medal awarded by AGIFORS (

Dr. Bin Hu received the Distinguished Dissertation Award.

Dr. Lauren Lu wreceived The Weatherspoon Award for Excellence in BSBA Teaching and theManagement Science Meritorious Service Award.

Dr. Saravanan Kesavan won Second Prize in the JFIG Competition.

Dr. Brad Staats' article "Lean principles, learning, and knowledge work: Evidence from a software services provider" was awarded The Shingo Research and Professional Publication Award. The Shingo Prize is an award for work studying operational excellence.



Dr. Lauren Lu received the Management Science Meritorious Service Award; Honorable Mention, OCSAMSE Annual Conference Best Paper Award.

Dr. Adam Mersereau received The Weatherspoonh Award for Excellence in MBA Teaching.



Dr. Lauren Lu received the M&SOM Meritorious Service Award.

Dr. Ann Marucheck received The Weatherspoon Award for Excellence in BSBA Teaching. 

Dr. Alan Neebe received The Gerald Barrett Faculty Award for greatest contribution to the MBA Program.

Dr. Jay Swaminathan - Fellow, Academic Leadership Program, University of North Carolina.

Dr. Harvey Wagner received The Weatherspoon Award for Distinguished Research.



Dr. Lauren Lu received first prize INFORMS JFIG paper competition.

Dr. Adam Mersereau won the MSOM best paper award.



Dr. Jay Swaminathan received The Weatherspoon Award for Excellence in Research.



Dr. Jay Swaminathan received The Weatherspoon Award for Excellence in PhD teaching.



Dr. Wendell Gilland received The Weatherspoon Award for Excellence in MBA teaching.



Dr. Douglas Elvers received 2000 Tanner Faculty Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching, which recognizes excellence in inspirational teaching of undergraduate students.

Dr. Ann Marucheck received The Weatherspoon Award for Excellence in Ph.D. teaching.

Dr. Harvey Wagner - In celebration of the 50th anniversary of the journal Management Science the membership of INFORMS selected Dr. Wagner's 1958 article Dynamic Version of the Economic Lot Size Model, coauthored with Thomas Whitin, as one of its ten most influential published papers.​


Student Awards


Karthik Natarajan - Best Graduating PhD Student Award, Kenan-Flagler Business School



Karthik Natarajan - Graduate Dissertation Completion Fellowship

Yimin Wang - The Skinner Best Paper Award in POM 2012 was presented to UNC Kenan-Flagler PhD graduate 



Gokce Esenduran (Joint First Prize) - Elwood S. Buffa Doctoral Dissertation Prize, Decision Sciences Institute



Gokce Esenduran - Best Graduating PhD Student Award, Kenan-Flagler Business School 



Olga Perdikaki and Gokce Esenduran win PhD Awards - Olga Perdikaki was the recipient of two awards. Ms Perdikaki won the Outstanding Teaching Award and shared (with one other student) the Outstanding Graduating Student Award. Ms Esenduran has been awarded a University Dissertation Completion Fellowship for the coming year.



Olga Perdikaki - Graduate Dissertation Completion Fellowship



Sebastian Hans Heese - Best Graduating PhD Student Award, Kenan-Flagler Business School​